Break a leg!

My Dad says he didn’t do it. He was raised on a sheep ranch in Eastern Montana. The story I asked him about is one I have heard several times. It involves shepherds and how they discipline wayward sheep.

According to the story, if a lamb has a tendency to wander off, the shepherd will actually break one of its legs. He then tends the broken leg – puts a splint on it and binds it up. Then while the leg is mending, he carries it on his shoulder. According to the anecdote, once the sheep heals, it will follow the shepherd, close at his side, the rest of its life. Never again go astray.

Now, breaking a sheep’s leg seems harsh. Brutal even! But the shepherd knows it is better for the sheep to suffer temporary pain than to wander off in the wilderness. That’s when the wily coyote begins to smile. Leg of lamb for supper and a new wool sweater for winter.

But, this story is not in the Bible, you say. Well there is a verse that runs parallel:

How enviable is the man whom God corrects. Oh, do not despise the chastening of the Lord when you sin. For though he wounds, he binds and heals once again. Job 5:17,18

God will chasten and correct us if we stray. You say yep, I could write the book? Been there, done that?  But it is for our good. And trust me, the pain is better than the alternative – becoming lamb chops on Satan’s dinner table.

Which brings me back to my Dad on the ranch. Nope. He didn’t break their leg. He just got out the 22, and that night they had mutton stew. “Dad! How could you???”

Remember, when the Lord wounds, he binds and heals again. He will not leave us broken or bruised. And when we have healed, we will never stray again. “How enviable is the man whom God corrects!”

5 responses to “Break a leg!

  1. Came across your blog just know while searching for the truth of the story that you blog is about…. loved it. I did repost it on my FB . Your devotion is just one more in a long list disproving the story of breaking a leg… But loved the scripture you included and the story of what you had for supper… Hope to get time to read more of your devotions

  2. Tammy Shultz Sisler

    I have a daughter that is living a lie and it has me so depressed all I want to do is cry and sleep. My husband has been praying for her and God told him that she needs her “leg broken” to bring her back to Him. I’ve been looking for this story about the shepherd and the wayward lamb. I know this story isn’t in the Bible but yet it is. God is a loving and just God/Father He does correct us when we stray. Even with us having a freewill God will correct His children. I would rather be punished and brought to my senses than left to the wolves. Sincerely, Tammy Shultz Sisler

    • Amen Tammy! Jesus broke my little leg by wounding my precious mother, we were both so lost in the Word of Faith cult, headed for Hell. She repented before dying of breast cancer and I repented after searching for the truth in the aftermath. I wish it didn’t take extreme punishment to bring us to our senses, but I am so grateful to Jesus for having the guts and kindness to break our little legs! I pray your little lamb comes home soon, all healed up! Don’t give up, keep praying until she does! =)

  3. I believe that God allows the pain, but doesn’t cause it.
    It’s we ourselves who dole out own punishment.
    If we confess our sins, Hes just and righteous to forgive us..
    Let us be careful who we blame.

  4. Pingback: Jesus the Leg-breaker, Part 1 | The Gospel and the Religious Mind

Leave a comment